The actual MLB baseball season is quickly running down and now is when it gets most interesting for those of us who have a team still in play. For me its The Blue Jays. This is not out of any overwhelming loyalty, they just happen to be the closest geographic team and I remember being in University watching them win back to back championships.

Baseball is something I know about, will watch and have occasionally have gone to see live.
I’ve been to the Skydome/Rogers Centre, Le Grand O, Coors Field and most famously the outside of Fenway Park where I drunkenly had to be held up while peeing during my bachelor party, but most of all I interact with baseball through the O-Pee-Chee cards.

I collected them as a kid, then stopped buying any baseball cards when I focused on hockey. Since then I’ve now challenged myself to go back and complete all the O-Pee-Chee sets. The low hanging fruit of the junk wax error is completed as I have all the base and most of the inserts from 1986-1993.

I’ve always found the 1980 O-Pee-Chee set to be a pretty likable design. As these came out when I was 8 its possible I may have bought of trade for some at the time, but I have to thank CrazieJoe and Eriqulous for supplying a bunch of these in recent trades.

Full stats are always something I liked. Learning about the ERA was a fun math problem to me. And as always I got to improve my French with words like Lanceur, Fiche Complete and Sans Coups.

In total I added 10 more to this set to put me at a very healthy progress point.

1980 O-Pee-Chee 333/396 for 89.04%

Leave a comment